In the next several days, the Iowa House will debate Senate File 424.  This bill strikes the “or red reflector” portion of the law that requires lights for riding a bicycle at night.  We like lights and we wish more people would choose to ride with lights.


If the law is going to require people riding bicycles at night to have some extra responsibility, wouldn’t it be fair if motorists had the responsibility to change lanes to pass bicycles? Rep. Kressig has filed amendment H1187.  It is already in the code that motorists have to pass on the opposite side of the road and cannot drive in more than one lane. WE NEED YOU TO ASK YOUR REPRESENTATIVE TO SUPPORT HOUSE AMENDMENT H1187 MAKE IT CLEAR TO CHANGE LANES TO PASS BICYCLES.


Send one simple email to your Iowa Representative.  We have pasted the list of House members below.  Pick out your Representative and send an email.  If you are not sure who your representative is, click for a quick search.


Some great points to cover in your email:

  • 84% of bicycle crashes happen during the daytime.
  • In 2013, 2% (7 crashes) occurred because the person wasn’t visible.  In 2014, that number was zero.
  • 50% of bicycle/motor vehicle crashes are at non-intersections
  • One of the top causes of bicycle/motor vehicle crashes is failure of drivers to yield, according to Iowa DOT traffic safety.
  • DOT has already changed drivers manual to reflect change lanes to pass a bicycle.
  • Change Lanes to ​P​ass is easier to enforce, teach, and learn.
  • Cars cannot legally split lanes, but often do at the peril of bicyclists.
  • We believe clear statutory language on safe passing would help reduce the 118 bicycle/vehicle collisions that occurred in 2014.
  • We believe when safe passing laws are taught in drivers education and have solid enforcement, the laws can save lives of people who ride bicycles.


We urge you to adopt H1187 and pass Senate File 424 with language that reflects “changing lanes to pass bicycles.”



House Ako Abdul-Samad 35 Democrat Polk
House Marti Anderson 36 Democrat Polk
House Rob Bacon 48 Republican Story
House Chip Baltimore 47 Republican Boone
House Clel Baudler 20 Republican Adair
House Terry C. Baxter 8 Republican Hancock
House Bruce Bearinger 64 Democrat Fayette
House Liz Bennett 65 Democrat Linn
House Deborah L. Berry 62 Democrat Black Hawk
House Brian Best 12 Republican Carroll
House Darrel Branhagen 55 Republican Winneshiek
House Timi Brown-Powers 61 Democrat Black Hawk
House Josh Byrnes 51 Republican Mitchell
House Gary Carlson 91 Republican Muscatine
House Dennis M. Cohoon 87 Democrat Des Moines
House Peter Cownie 42 Republican Polk
House Dave Dawson 14 Democrat Woodbury
House Dave Deyoe 49 Republican Story
House Cecil Dolecheck 24 Republican Ringgold
House Jack Drake 21 Republican Cass
House Nancy Dunkel 57 Democrat Dubuque
House Abby Finkenauer 99 Democrat Dubuque
House Dean Fisher 72 Republican Tama
House John Forbes 40 Democrat Polk
House Greg Forristall 22 Republican Pottawattamie
House Joel Fry 27 Republican Clarke
House Ruth Ann Gaines 32 Democrat Polk
House Mary Gaskill 81 Democrat Wapello
House Tedd Gassman 7 Republican Winnebago
House Pat Grassley 50 Republican Butler
House Stan Gustafson 25 Republican Madison
House Chris Hagenow 43 Republican Polk
House Chris Hall 13 Democrat Woodbury
House Curt Hanson 82 Democrat Jefferson
House Mary Ann Hanusa 16 Republican Pottawattamie
House Greg Heartsill 28 Republican Marion
House David E. Heaton 84 Republican Henry
House Lisa Heddens 46 Democrat Story
House Lee Hein 96 Republican Jones
House Jake Highfill 39 Republican Polk
House Steven Holt 18 Republican Crawford
House Bruce L. Hunter 34 Democrat Polk
House Daniel A. Huseman 3 Republican Cherokee
House Charles Isenhart 100 Democrat Dubuque
House Dave Jacoby 74 Democrat Johnson
House Megan Jones 2 Republican Clay
House Ron Jorgensen 6 Republican Woodbury
House Bobby Kaufmann 73 Republican Cedar
House Jerry A. Kearns 83 Democrat Lee
House Daniel Kelley 29 Democrat Jasper
House Jarad J. Klein 78 Republican Washington
House Kevin Koester 38 Republican Polk
House John Kooiker 4 Republican Sioux
House Bob Kressig 59 Democrat Black Hawk
House John Landon 37 Republican Polk
House Vicki S. Lensing 85 Democrat Johnson
House Jim Lykam 89 Democrat Scott
House Mary Mascher 86 Democrat Johnson
House Dave Maxwell 76 Republican Poweshiek
House Charlie McConkey 15 Democrat Pottawattamie
House Brian Meyer 33 Democrat Polk
House Helen Miller 9 Democrat Webster
House Linda J. Miller 94 Republican Scott
House Norlin Mommsen 97 Republican Clinton
House Brian Moore 58 Republican Jackson
House Zach Nunn 30 Republican Polk
House Jo Oldson 41 Democrat Polk
House Rick Olson 31 Democrat Polk
House Scott Ourth 26 Democrat Warren
House Kraig Paulsen 67 Republican Linn
House Ross Paustian 92 Republican Scott
House Dawn E. Pettengill 75 Republican Benton
House Todd Prichard 52 Democrat Floyd
House Ken Rizer 68 Republican Linn
House Walt Rogers 60 Republican Black Hawk
House Patti Ruff 56 Democrat Clayton
House Kirsten Running-Marquardt 69 Democrat Linn
House Sandy Salmon 63 Republican Black Hawk
House Thomas R. Sands 88 Republican Louisa
House Mike Sexton 10 Republican Calhoun
House Larry Sheets 80 Republican Appanoose
House David Sieck 23 Republican Mills
House Mark D. Smith 71 Democrat Marshall
House Chuck Soderberg 5 Republican Plymouth
House Art Staed 66 Democrat Linn
House Quentin Stanerson 95 Republican Linn
House Sharon S. Steckman 53 Democrat Cerro Gordo
House Sally Stutsman 77 Democrat Johnson
House Rob Taylor 44 Republican Dallas
House Todd E. Taylor 70 Democrat Linn
House Phyllis Thede 93 Democrat Scott
House Linda L. Upmeyer 54 Republican Cerro Gordo
House Guy Vander Linden 79 Republican Mahaska
House Ralph C. Watts 19 Republican Dallas
House Beth Wessel-Kroeschell 45 Democrat Story
House John H. Wills 1 Republican Dickinson
House Cindy Winckler 90 Democrat Scott
House Matt W. Windschitl 17 Republican Harrison
House Mary Lynn Wolfe 98 Democrat Clinton
House Gary Worthan 11 Republican Buena Vista

Unsubscribe here