Legislation

The Iowa Bicycle Coalition is concerned about bike policy.  Legislative efforts that would improve bicycling is important to our mission.  We strive to educate our members and elected officials on elements of good bicycle policy.

State Recreational Trails Fund / Multimodal Fund / Governor’s Budget

Amount appropriated for Iowa State Recreational Trails Fund ($0) See page 197 of Budget

Amount appropriated for General Fund Multimodal Transportation Fund ($5.5 million) See page 199 of Budget
Other uses, such as rail, aviation, freight, and transit are eligible for this funding stream

SF164 Doorzone

Filed by Sen. Bolkcom

An Act relating to the opening of a door on the side of a vehicle available to moving traffic and providing a penalty.

Current Step–>  Iowa Senate Transportation Subcommittee Action
Subcommittee assigned as:

Senator Bowman (D-29, Maquoketa) Email at tod.bowman@legis.iowa.gov

Senator Dvorsky (D-37, Coralville) Email at robert.dvorsky@legis.iowa.gov

Senator Zumbach (R-48, Manchester) Email at dan.zumbach@legis.iowa.gov

TBA Iowa Senate Transportation Committee Action (Funnel Deadline March 8)

Send an email to Senate Subcommittee on Senate File 164 – Door Zone Protection

Senator Bowman (D-29, Maquoketa) 
Senator Dvorsky (D-37, Coralville) 
Senator Zumbach (R-48, Manchester)

Email block to copy:  tod.bowman@legis.iowa.gov,  robert.dvorsky@legis.iowa.gov, dan.zumbach@legis.iowa.gov

Tell them this bill could save lives of bicyclists that ride along streets.  Door zone crashes can be very dangerous.

TBA Iowa Senate Action

TBA House Subcommittee Action

TBA House Transportation Committee Action

TBA Iowa House Action

TBA Governor Action

 

SF157 Three Foot Passing Distance

Filed by Sen. Bolkcom, Dotzler, Dvorsky, McCoy

Send an email to Senate Transportation Subcommittee asking them to pass Senate File 157 on Three Foot Passing for Bicyclists.

Senator Brase (D-46, Muscatine) 
Senator Bowman (D-29, Maquoketa)
Senator Feenstra (R-2, Hull)

Email block to copy:  chris.brase@legis.iowa.govtod.bowman@legis.iowa.gov, randy.feenstra@legis.iowa.gov

Tell them this bill will be effective policy for overtaking bicycle crashes that have risen 30% in the past three years.  Three foot passing will be added to the drivers manual, exam, and taught in driver’s education.

HF244 Three Foot Passing Distance

Filed by Reps. Kressig, Running-Marquardt, Steckman

An Act relating to the operation of bicycles on a highway and to motorists overtaking and passing a bicycle, implement of husbandry, or slow-moving vehicle on a highway, and making penalties applicable.

Referred to Transportation Committee in House on 2/7/13

Current Step–>  Iowa Senate Transportation Subcommittee Action
Subcommittee assigned as:

Senator Brase (D-46, Muscatine) Email at chris.brase@legis.iowa.gov

Senator Bowman (D-29, Maquoketa) Email at tod.bowman@legis.iowa.gov

Senator Feenstra (R-2, Hull) Email at randy.feenstra@legis.iowa.gov

TBA Iowa Senate Transportation Committee Action (Funnel Deadline March 8)

TBA Iowa Senate Action

TBA House Subcommittee Action

TBA House Transportation Committee Action

TBA Iowa House Action

TBA Governor Action

HF 151 Three Foot Passing Distance

Filed by Rep. Ron Jorgensen (R-54) of Sioux City

Referred to Transportation Committee in House on 2/5/13

Send an email to the House Transportation Committee asking them to pass House File 151 or House File 244 on Three Foot Passing For Bicyclists.

Rep. Joshua Byrnes (R, District 51), Chair, Rep. Brian Moore (R, District 58), Vice Chair, Rep. Jim Lykam (D, District 89), Rep. Dennis Cohoon (D, District 87), Rep. John Forbes (D, District 40), Rep. Greg Forristall (R, District 22), Rep. Greg Heartsill (R, District 28), Rep. Daniel Huseman (R, District 3), Rep. Ron Jorgensen (R, District 6), Rep. Bobby Kaufmann (R, District 73), Rep. John Landon (R, District 37), Rep. Helen Miller (D, District 9), Rep. Patrick Murphy (D, District 99), Rep. Rick Olson (D, District 31), Rep. Steve Olson (R, District 97), Rep. Dawn Pettengill (R, District 75), Rep. Henry Rayhons (R, District 8), Rep. Joe Riding (D, District 30), Rep. Walt Rogers (R, District 60), Rep. Sally Stutsman (D, District 77), Rep. Mary Wolfe (D, District 98)

Email block to copy:   josh.byrnes@legis.iowa.gov, brian.moore@legis.iowa.gov, jim.lykam@legis.iowa.gov, dennis.cohoon@legis.iowa.gov, john.forbes@legis.iowa.gov, greg.forristall@legis.iowa.gov, greg.heartsill@legis.iowa.gov, dan.huseman@legis.iowa.gov, ron.jorgensen@legis.iowa.gov, bobby.kaufmann@legis.iowa.gov, john.landon@legis.iowa.gov, helen.miller@legis.iowa.gov, patrick.murphy@legis.iowa.gov, rick.olson@legis.iowa.gov, steven.olson@legis.iowa.gov, dawn.pettengill@legis.iowa.gov, henry.rayhons@legis.iowa.gov, joe.riding@legis.iowa.gov, walt.rogers@legis.iowa.gov, sally.stutsman@legis.iowa.gov, mary.wolfe@legis.iowa.gov

TBA House Subcommittee Action

TBA House Transportation Committee Action (Funnel Deadline March 8)

TBA Iowa House Action

TBA Iowa Senate Transportation Subcommittee Action

TBA Iowa Senate Transportation Committee Action

TBA Iowa Senate Action

TBA Governor Action